Guiding Principles
We hold our judges to the highest standards of fairness, accuracy impartiality and integrity. The entire judging process adheres firmly to these guiding principles.

Equal Treatment of all Entries
Judges evaluate every entry with a discerning eye towards project scope and strategic goals. A professional execution under a limited budget is more worthy than a mediocre execution for a well-funded initiative.

It is execution that matters, not total project scope.

Ensuring Impartiality
We make all efforts to avoid conflicts of interest in the judging process (such as inadvertently assigning a judge to evaluate an entry with which he/she is associated).

At least three judges are assigned to each entry at random from within the pool of judges whose expertise is relevant. All judges are screened before being assigned an entry.

All of the judges are expected to and will excuse themselves from judging an entry that may present a conflict of interest.

The Judging System
To evaluate entries, judges utilise a points-based scoring system. Each judge will score each submission within their designated category; scores will then be combined to identify the short list/winner.

It is possible that more than one entry may qualify to win the same category.

Each category winner is scored again by the panel judges against the judging criteria to select the overall winner of a Real IT Award.

Decisions made by judges are final. The judges' decisions cannot be appealed.

The judging for the CITF Membership Award follows a separate process. The shortlist is chosen by CITF and forwarded for a final decision by the Membership Council.

2021 Real IT Awards Judges

Pooja Bagga
IT Director - Operations (Transformation)

Royal Mail Group

Alex Begg
CTO, Global IS

British Council

Mark Bramwell
Chief Information Officer

Saïd Business School, University of Oxford

Sabah Carter
CIO Enterprise Systems

News Corp

Laura Dawson
Director of Data and Technology Services

The London School of Economics

Christelle Heikkila
IT Director

Arsenal F.C

Karl Hoods
Chief Digital & Information Officer

Department for Business Energy and Industrial Strategy

Rachel Jones


Naomi O'Neill
Head of IT Governance


Zayd Rasool
Director - Service Excellence


Nick Reeks
IT Director

Tata Steel Europe

Gilberto Rodrigues
Director of IT, EMEA


Christina Scott
Chief Technology Officer

News UK

Matt Scott
Chief Digital Information Officer

East Sussex County Council

Ned Stevanovski
Head of IT Operations & Security

Mishcon de Reya LLP

Spencer Summons
Head of IS Security, Risk and Assurance

Tullow Oil

Wei Wang
Senior Director

Align Technology

Marcus Wuerker
Chief Information Officer UK & Ireland