Guiding Principles
We hold our judges to the highest standards of fairness, accuracy impartiality and integrity. The entire judging process adheres firmly to these guiding principles.

Equal Treatment of all Entries
Judges evaluate every entry with a discerning eye towards project scope and strategic goals. A professional execution under a limited budget is more worthy than a mediocre execution for a well-funded initiative.

It is execution that matters, not total project scope.

Ensuring Impartiality
We make all efforts to avoid conflicts of interest in the judging process (such as inadvertently assigning a judge to evaluate an entry with which he/she is associated).

At least three judges are assigned to each entry at random from within the pool of judges whose expertise is relevant. All judges are screened before being assigned an entry.

All of the judges are expected to and will excuse themselves from judging an entry that may present a conflict of interest.

The Judging System
To evaluate entries, judges utilise a points-based scoring system. Each judge will score each submission within their designated category; scores will then be combined to identify the short list/winner.

It is possible that more than one entry may qualify to win the same category.

Each category winner is scored again by the panel judges against the judging criteria to select the overall winner of a Real IT Award.

Decisions made by judges are final. The judges' decisions cannot be appealed.

The judging for the Special Achievement Award follows a separate process. The shortlist is chosen by the CITF and forwarded for a final decision by the Membership Council.

2018 Real IT Awards Judges

Philip Brown
Group Director of IT


Mark Bramwell
CIO and Director of Professional Services

SaÏd Business School

Nick Reeks
Director IT, Vendor Management

TATA Steel

Sharon Gilkes
Digital Channel Director

Post Office LTD

Tim Burke
Chief Information Officer

Tullow Oil

David Henderson
Director of Technology and Operations


Steve Lok
Head of Martech and Ops, Mass Digital Acquisition

The Economist

Nathan Bishop
IT Director

Grafton Group

Yiannis (John) Seglias
Group Chief Digital and Information Officer (CDIO)


Brigid McBride
Digital Director

HM Revenue & Customs

Tony Porritt
UK App & Infra Manager


Christina Scott
Chief Technology Officer

News UK

Mike Croucher
Chief Architect


Paul Salmon
Head of IT Business Systems

Jet 2

Chris Barnicott
Chief Technology Officer


Ignacio Santiago
Chief Information Officer (Managing Director)

EON IT UK Limited

Richard Baylie
Global Chief Information Officer


Laura Meyer
Chief Information Officer CIO

HarperCollins Publishers

Vincent Kelly
Director of IT

PRS for Music

Mike McMinn
Group IT Director

Marston's PLC

Richard Noyle
Head of Information Technology

Great Western Railway LTD

Mahmoud Shomali
Head of Solution Architecture


Kevin O'Brien
Global IT Director


Brian Ward
Head of Group IT Governance & Security

Mercedes-Benz Cars UK Ltd

Tom Zebedee
Deputy Director Technology


Claire Dickson
CIO Downstream


Jon Townsend
Chief Information Officer

National Trust

Ian Shields
CIO - Senior Director: Digital, Commercial & Supply Chain (Europe & Sub Saharan Africa)


Wei Wang
Senior Director, EMEA IT

Align Technology

Gareth Hepworth
IT Architecture & Technology Innovation


Ian Fisher
CIO UK & Ireland


Charles Ewen
Director of Technology and CIO

Met Office